Morrowind:Block

The UESPWiki – Your source for The Elder Scrolls since 1995
Jump to: navigation, search
Skill: Block
Block
Governing Attribute:
Agility
Specialization:
Combat
Increase:
Successful Block: +2.5

The Block skill allows one to use shields to block any melee attack. Shields will not protect you from ranged attacks (either magical or otherwise). A successful block removes all damage from the attack.

Blocking in Morrowind is automatic. If you have a shield equipped, you will have a chance to block attacks without having to do anything. Blocking occurs only within an arc in front of the character (nominally from 90 degrees left of center to 30 degrees right of center, but the implementation of these angles is bugged). Block chance is capped between 10% and 50%. You cannot block without a shield. Using a 2-handed weapon disables blocking.

[edit] Character Creation

The following races receive bonuses to their Block skill:

  • +10 bonus: Orc

The following classes have Block as a Major skill:

The following classes have Block as a Minor skill:

[edit] Trainers

The Master Trainer of Block is Shardie at Buckmoth Legion Fort. Other trainers of note are:

See Block Trainers for the complete list.

[edit] Books

The following books will increase your Block skill:

[edit] Factions

The following factions include Block as one of their favored skills:

[edit] Notes

  • In addition to blocking attacks, shields have the highest potential for enchantment of any item type in the game.
  • Although you cannot block with a shield while using a 2-handed weapon, as stated above, it will still confer any constant effect enchantments upon you if equipped.
  • Unlike most other skills, Block increases faster as your skill level grows, as your chances of blocking become more frequent which more than negates the additional practice required at higher levels. This is because your chances of blocking an attack are never 100%, no matter how far you boost the skill, whereas other combat skills give you a 100% chance to hit by level 50.

[edit] Shields

This is a list of all base Shields.

[edit] Light Shields

Name ID Weight Health Value Rating Enchant
Netch Leather Shield netch_leather_shield 6.0 100 17 5 15
Nordic Leather Shield nordic_leather_shield 4.5 100 25 5 15
Netch Leather Tower Shield netch_leather_towershield 9.0 100 25 5 22.5
Chitin Shield chitin_shield 4.0 200 22 10 25
Chitin Tower Shield chitin_towershield 6.0 240 32 12 37.5
Glass Shield glass_shield 9.0 1000 13600 50 30
Glass Tower Shield glass_towershield 9.0 1100 20000 55 45

[edit] Medium Shields

Name ID Weight Health Value Rating Enchant
Bonemold Shield bonemold_shield 10.0 300 170 15 40
Bonemold Tower Shield
Hlaalu Guard Shield
Redoran Banner Shield
Redoran Guard Shield
Telvanni Guard Shield
bonemold_towershield
bonemold_tshield_hlaaluguard
bonemold_tshield_hrlb
bonemold_tshield_redoranguard
bonemold_tshield_telvanniguard
13.0 340 250 17 60
Dragonscale Tower Shield dragonscale_towershield 12.0 440 230 22 60
Orcish Tower Shield orcish_towershield 13.4 640 2000 32 90
Dreugh Shield dreugh_shield 13.5 800 2550 40 45
Indoril Shield indoril shield 13.5 900 2000 45 45

[edit] Heavy Shields

Name ID Weight Health Value Rating Enchant
Iron Shield iron_shield 15.0 200 34 10 50
Iron Tower Shield iron_towershield 18.0 240 50 12 75
Steel Shield steel_shield 15.0 300 68 15 50
Imperial Shield imperial shield 14.0 320 78 16 50
Nordic Trollbone Shield trollbone_shield 16.0 360 78 18 40
Steel Tower Shield steel_towershield 20.0 360 100 18 75
Dwemer Shield dwemer_shield 15.0 400 510 20 50
Ebony Shield
Auriel's Shield
ebony_shield
ebony_shield_auriel
30.0 1200 17000 60 100
Ebony Tower Shield ebony_towershield 30.0 1200 25000 60 150
Daedric Shield daedric_shield 45.0 1600 34000 80 150
Daedric Tower Shield daedric_towershield 45.0 1600 50000 80 225

Personal tools
 What is this Ad?
Report Ad